Meet Sparkie! 

Frog in residence

Sparkie at her birthday party.
IMG_20160423_142437329_edited_edited_edited
IMG_20160423_140300708_edited
IMG_20160423_142003427_TOP_edited
IMG_20160423_142300130_edited
IMG_20160423_140700483_edited_edited
IMG_20160423_134708086_edited
IMG_20160423_144145756_HDR_edited
IMG_20160423_144140273_edited
IMG_20160423_141756094_TOP_edited

Sparkie's 14th Birthday party in pictures

Just the facts...

My name is Sparkie.  I am an AFRICAN CLAWED FROG.

 

  • My breed was originally found in African streams and ponds.  I carry diseases that could be deadly to other North American frogs if I were released into the wild.

  • I am a muscular,  food-devouring frog.

  • I have no tongue nor teeth.

  • I am a female.  I have a small tail for egg laying ( I have not laid eggs yet.)

  • Males vocalize during breeding season.

  • Males have stripes on the inside of their forearms.

  • Babies can happen when parents-to-be are 10 months to 1 year old.

  • Tadpoles can take from 6 to 8 weeks to become frogs.

  • I arrived here as a very small frog, not a tadpole.

  • I might live up to 25 years, with good care.

  • I might grow five inches long or more. (My albino cousins do not grow as large as my naturally-colored ones.)

  • There is a dwarf variety distinct from my regular-sized breed.

  • Once every few weeks, I shed my skin and eat it – it has nutrients I need. That takes only a few minutes, and some library staff have seen me do it.

  • My kind were used to determine pregnancy in women in the late 1950s and early 1960s.

  • We were released en masse when tests advanced and frogs were no longer used and we devoured lots of wild life.

  • How did I get here? Mrs. Baum, a previous library director, purchased me at Critters. She put me in a cube aquarium abandoned by a frog next door in City Hall, my first home in this building.

  • How old am I? Nobody knows…. But my estimated anniversary of arrival “birthday” is April, 2002.

  •  2016 marks my 14th year as Frog in Residence.

HOURS

MONDAY-THURSDAY

12.00 PM-6.00 PM

FRIDAY-SUNDAY

CLOSED

 

CONTACT​ US

1381 Southfield Road

Lincoln Park, MI 48146

Telephone: 313-381-0374
Fax: 313-386-7122
Event Registration

 

Subscribe for Updates